Search for:



On October 9, 2020, the Central Bank of Venezuela (“CBV”) ordered the suspension of products and services offered by universal and microfinance banks that facilitate the payment in foreign currencies for goods and services in Venezuelan (“Notice”).1  

On 1 September 1 2020, the National Superintendence of Cryptoassets and Related Activities (“SUNACRIP”) issued Administrative Guidelines No. 057-2020, which established the requirements and procedures for delivering and receiving cryptoassets remittances to individuals in Venezuela (“Guidelines”)1

On September 15, 2020, the Office of the Superintendent of Banking Sector Institutions (“SUDEBAN”) issued Resolution No. 041.20, which established temporary measures for evaluating credit portfolios, the creation of provisions in risk categories, the execution of guarantees and special conditions for credits granted before the entry into force of the Decree No. 4.1681 of March 23, 2020 (“Resolution”).2 The Resolution entered into force on September 15, 2020.

On 20 July 2020, the Ministries of Economy and Finance and Health issued the Joint Resolution Nos. 016-2020 and 111-2020, respectively, whereby include new tariff codes for goods aimed at preventing the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic (“Resolution”).1 The Resolution entered into force on 23 July 2020.

Baker McKenzie’s VAT/Indirect Tax Practice presented ‘Digital Services in Latin America,’ on 12 August 2020. This was the second presentation in the International VAT Conference Webinar Series, a global webinar series designed for VAT specialists from all industry sectors that aims to discuss the latest developing trends and hot topics in the VAT/GST and customs arena.

The Presidential Press’1 and the Ministry of Habitat and Housing’s2 Twitter accounts announced on August 9, 2020 the execution of the “National Agreement of Municipal Tax Harmonization” (“Agreement”), prepared by the Bolivarian Council of Mayors of Venezuela3 to harmonize municipal taxes in 305 Venezuelan municipalities. (Venezuela has 335 municipalities).  Click here to see a copy of the Agreement, dated July 29, 2020. (available only in Spanish)